Twilight of Kerberos: Night’s Haunting

Posted on March 31 2010 by Publisher

[Author: Matthew Sprange] Twilight of Kerberos is a sword and sorcery book series, featuring six books by various authors. Returning to the world built in the Twilights of Kerberos universe, Night’s Haunting is the second book in the series, following Shadowmage, by author Matthew Sprange. The main character Lucius Kane, a thief and Shadowmage, finds himself battling the intrigues of the cities thieves’ guild, the shrewd political landscape and religious zealots that threaten to destroy his way of life.

Sprange builds a story line that moves at a brisk pace and beckons readers into Kane’s world. Kane’s story is bittersweet with romance, action and betrayal. For Kane, who’s trying to do the best for his allegiances, finds himself in turmoil and anguish. His romantic involvements with Elaine, the guildmistress, and Adrianna, another Shadowmage, builds distrust within the thieves’ guild, which he dearly loves. Both push upon his loyalties and make him defend his own moral code. Each woman seeks a different path; one more destructive than the other.

Sprange has developed a unique approach toward the idea of magic. The Shadowmage arcane ways are described as visualizing threads spinning around a single strand, each thread producing elements of magic for the practitioner to call upon. Kane, who has access to all forms of magic, finds himself on a path of discovery that will lead him to answers that could help overcome his adversaries in the waning hours of the story.

The story ends in climatic fashion. The outcome is unpredictable as the city Kane loves falls apart at the seams. With battles raging from the city streets to the Citadel of Turnitia, Kane goes from thief to warrior to savior at great personal expense. With several plot lines exposed, readers will be immersed in action and intrigue when they enter the world Kerberos. Sprange creates likable characters that are flawed in their own way, making them seem all the more human. The story is compelling and not over indulgent.

*** Contributing Writer: John Kindred

Product Description: “He’s dead, Lucuis! Dead! While you were off playing thief, they killed him!”

Thief and Shadowmage, Lucius Kane, has found that his influence and power in the underworld of Turnitia has grown. The thieves’ guild is prosperous, and his magical skills have proved a great asset to his peers. His prospects seem boundless, until the Empire of Vos descends upon the City.

Soldiers fill the streets and a new cleric has taken command of the souls of Turnitia’s citizens. This strange priest has promised to eradicate the thieves’ guild, as well as outlaw unlicensed magic – and the pagan Shadowmages are at the top of his list.

Lucius will come to realize that, once again, a war in the streets of his city must be fought..


• Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
• Publisher: Abaddon Books (February 16, 2010)
• Language: English
• ISBN-10: 1906735255
• ISBN-13: 978-1906735258

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *